Today I will be reviewing “A Perfect Pet for Peyton” a book I recieved from the publisher for review.
I first learned about the five love languages at the age of 18 in a home economy class. I thought it was a pretty great idea then, as I do now. I had never thought of applying this to those who we end up loving most: our children. If you are unfamiliar with this theory, The 5 different love languages are: Gift s,Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Physical Touch, and Acts of Service.
A Perfect Pet for Peyton, written by the #1 New York Times bestseller Gary Chapman and Rick Osborne introduces the young reader to the five love languages. Such as in Gary Chapman’s best- selling book ‘The 5 Love Languages’, a book written for adults, the children’s book ‘A Perfect Pet for Peyton’ is a book meant to help children learn the different ways in which we give and receive love.
The book starts with twins Peyton and Penny, as they start their day and head out to with their parents to celebrate their birthday at Mr. Chapman’s Perfect Pet Pal Emporium
Though it is well written I would argue that it is little bit lengthy for younger children. I would probably not recommend this for children under 6. I could see children being a bit confused and having lots of questions for their parents. The illustrations are very detailed, while zi loved them of the animals, I thought the human faces were a little creepy and off-putting. That is a personal preference, as art is so subjective.
I would recommend this overall. I think it make a fabulous baby shower gift, instead of a card.

