51u1325DGdL

I have a minor in art, so I have taken a lot of art technique classes, and have read a lot art articles and books.

I never got to take a watercolor technique class, so I am always looking for anything to help me with watercolors. So I was excited to receive a free copy in exchange for a review.

I was a little disappointed in this book. The first thing I noticed was the size and packaging of this book. It is quite small and , well, long. This made for a little bit of an awkward read, I felt like I was going to tear it as I turned the pages.  Because of the smll size of the book, the font was pretty small, which is a little off-putting for my healthy eyes. How is anyone with any kind of eye issue going to be able to read this book?

So the format of this book is an artist statement on one page and the artist piece on the other. The author talks about the piece. In the back there are about 20 pages of reference and technique terms. I just felt like I was reading a student gallery book. Which, really, is what it was.

If you are knowledgeable of basic watercolor techniques and want to explore modern tricks, this is a nice choice for you. If you are new to watercolor, I wouldn’t recommend this.

