51RvG+DbkDL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I love to read about female empowerment and I am a feminist. So I was excited to receive this book for free in exchange for a review.

The title of this book Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own. From the title, I was expecting a little more empowerment scattered throughout, but I didn’t really feel that come across. I expected more of taking the term spinster and making it a powerful title.

This book kindof reads like an informal essay or a very formal diary. The paragraphs don’t flow very evenly into one another, rather the author has a new thought she expresses with every few sentences. It certainly isn’t bad, it just isn’t my cup of tea. I had a hard time relating to her stories and her journey.  I think this book is best for women aged 40+, it would also make a nice piece for those who want to read a page or two before bed.

-Senna

