Robert De Niro is one of the living legends of the silver screen. I enjoy reading about people’s life and history, so I was very excited to get to review DiNiro by Shawn Levy.

Levy is a seasoned writer having penned several biographies.

Mean Streets, the Godfather Part II, Taxi Driver, the Deer Hunter, and Raging Bull all have made a lasting impression on audiences as well as critics. Movies like Meet the Parents have become ingrained in our culture.

This biography is extremely through.

The author writes of DeNiro of great respect and admiration

Although it is a little slow in the introduction, the book picks up when we start to learn more about the parents that DeNiro knew, we learn about his fathers struggles with his identity, his mother’s entrepreneurial spirit,

I loved reading about his first acting classes. At the New School in 1953, where he got his first taste of the theatre as the Cowardly Lion in the wizard of oz. He would later forgo public education for acting classes which shaped the man we know.

I have to admit when I think of Robert DiNiro, of get the image of that “tough guy” who can intimidate everyone. This portrays him as guarded and deeply personal.

My favorite things were DeNiro’s quotes. I really enjoyed hearing his world view and his reminiscing’s on his life and career.

